2017 Gala Registration still open!

Gala 2017 seats and tables are still available. First come, first served for seating preference. 

Call 202-332-6770. PURCHASE SEATS TODAY!: Go to http://www.anwc.org/2017-gala, click on the drop down menu under gala 2017, call the Club office 202-332-6770 or email anwclub@comcast.net!


Wed. June 14th, 6:30 PM Annual Meeting/Election of Officers, **7:15  Anna Palmer of Politco's Playbook: Power Briefing  will address the ANWC's full house of members on this special evening. Click here to Reserve early!  It's sure to be a sold out evening. Our programs are open to members,  guests, and students.

Scholarships 2017

Thank you for your submissions for our 2017 journalism scholarships.  ANWC will award two-three $3,000 scholarships to local area journalism students to support excllence in journalism at our annual gala. Thank you to our Scholarship Committee for their hard work.  And thank you for your submissions. 

Click here to read
our latest

Winter, 2016-2017

Click here to watch our Famed Holiday Party Celebration Video

      * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

ANWC is located at 1607 22nd Street, NW, Washington, DC 20008 at 22nd Street and Florida Ave., on Embassary Row between the Bulgarian and Estonian Embassies. 

ANWC Club office hours are Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays 10 am - 2 pm. Call us at 202-332-6770 or e-mail us anwclub@comcast.net.  Street parking is limited. Parking garages are nearby on Mass. Avenue. Allow yourself time to park.


The Trupps, with Sandy Trupp as our revered member and her husband Phil and daughters make membership for the ANWC a family affair. Contact the Club office if you are interested in becoming an esteemed member.

     * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

ELIZABETH BREE: Intern Extraordinaire! Special Thanks!

Thank you Elizabeth for your special service in support of the ANWC. Elizabeth interned with us as part of her Georgetown University Summer in Washington DC program.  She's back to Fordham University. 

    * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *


The ANWC  Clubhouse is located at 1607 22nd Street, NW, Washington, DC on Embassy Row and two blocks from the Dupont Circle metro. Street parking is available and there are parking garages in the neighborhood. 

     * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

                                           ANWC Celebrating 85 Years of Women Breaking Barriers   

MEET OUR ANWC EXCELLENCE IN JOURNALIMSM PAST RECIPIENTS AND GUESS WHO'S NEXT?  On May 4th in a glorious celebration, we'll be honoring USA TODAY's SUSAN PAGE (in red). Registration is OPEN to purchase seats and tables for ANWC's All-Star Evening of Excellence 2017 at the Press Club.  Click here to reserve today!  It's looking to be sold out. Purchase now!


                                                                  *      *     *    *


Thursday, March 30, 2017/
6:30 PM at the ANWC  

 Susan Quinn will present her intimate portrait published by Penguin Books of the three decades long relationship between the First Lady and  journalist Lorena Hickok that tranformed them both.  Their relationship begain in 1932 when the ANWC was founded.


$25.00 for members and guests/ lite fare dinner (limited seating) Please reserve early!. Contact JANINA AT THE CLUB OFFICE AT 202-332-6770,  Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays from 10 am- 4:00 pm, e-mail anwclub@comcast.net  Books will be available. 

                                                        #                                  #



Award Evening to be held at Nat'l Press Club, Thurs. May 4, 2017


The American News Women's Club has chosen veteran news reporter and Washington bureau chief Susan Page from USA TODAY to receive its Excellence in Journalism Award for 2017. Ms. Page has covered The White House and national politics through ten presidential elections. She will be recognized for her outstanding professional accomplishments at the ANWC gala award evening at the National Press Club on Thurs., May 4, 2017,  to benefit ANWC's scholarships for aspiring journalism students.  The ANWC is celebrating its eighty-fifth year of women breaking barriers.   MARK YOUR CALENDARS!


AMAZING EVENING:  Wed. FEBRUARY 15th at the CLUB - 'THE SILVER BARON'S WIFE' by Donna Baier Stein -  First in our "Women Breaking Barriers" series

 Hear about the colorful life and times of Lizzie McCort Taber aka "Baby Doe", one of America's original legends from the Wild West to her Willard Hotel Wedding.  Reserve early! Limited seating.  Click here for more info or go to our Programs page for more on exciting programs.  

                                                                                 # # #


 In 2014, the ANWC honored legendary broadcast journalist Gwen Ifill (PBS News Hour, Washington Week) with the ANWC Excellence in Journalism Award for her outstanding service in journalism. She was incredibly gracious and grateful. On behalf of all the members of the ANWC we are sorry for the world's great loss of such a beloved figure.  Rest in Peace Gwen Ifill.  Your presence and dedication to excellence will be sorely missed.   


Left to right:  Julie Chase,  Martha Raddatz,  Eleanor Clift,  Claire Swift, Gwen Ifill,  Dorothy Giliiam and John Dickerson.


# # #



Congratulations to ANWC lifetime honorary member (former FLOTUS)  Hillary Clinton who made history on July 27, 2016, as the first woman ever to be nominated by the Democratic Party for president of the United Sates. Congratulations Hillary for having the courage to continue breaking barriers for all women. On August 18, 1920, the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution was ratiefied to grant American women the right to vote. Every First Lady of the United States has been a member of the ANWC since 1932. 


Annual Meeting/Election of Officers

Page Crosland (Comms Liaison) Ginny Daly, (Past President, Governo), Claire Swift (Past President, Treasuer) Jan DuPlain (VP of Diplomatic Relations) Jean White (President) and Pamela Hosey (Secretary) gather for the ANWC Annual Meeting and Election of Officers on June 21st at the ANWC.     


Page Crosland, Jane Pennewell (VP of Membership), Jan DuPlain (VP of Diplomatic Relations),  Marion Mattingly (Governor),  Claire Swift,  Eleanor Clift (Governor) and Jean White.  Missing Sandy Trupp, (VP of Stratgic Development) and Hal Matson (Historian).


Frances Stroh

The gorgeous Frances Stroh packed the house at the ANWC June 15th for our Author's program: Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss (published by Harper Collins).

ANWC sponsoring Board Member Claire Swift, our speaker, Frances Stroh and ANWC President Jean White.    


Greta Van Susteren Receives
ANWC 2016 Excellence in Journalism Award 

May 19, 2016 - National Press Club, Wash., DC - Fox friends, fans along ANWC members and guests alike adored and adorned Fox News host and veteran reporter Greta Van Susteren as she recieved the ANWC's prestigious Excellence in Journalism Award. A magnificent time was had by all. Thank you Greta for making it look effortless and for being such a pro for all of these years. As our 2016 recipient, Greta joins our hall of fame of lifetime honorary members of the ANWC  Way to go Greta! Click here for our list of past recipients.

Click here for more photos from our 2016 Greta gala and more from our photo galleries.


ANWC Gala 2016:  A Family Affair


Three ANWC members Kathy Trupp, Sandy Trupp and Becky Trupp gather with their husbands John, Phil and Kevin Rolan at the Press Club this year. Phil and Sandy Trupp were the first to join our Club as a couple!                                            ____________________________________________

                             Click here for more photos and/or visit our photo galleries!