2017-2018 Membership Renewals are out. If you did not receive yours, you can download here:  Send in your renewal today!

 Historic Clubhouse

The ANWC Clubhouse is located at 1607 22nd Street,NW, Washington, DC on Embassy Row and two blocks from the Dupont Circle metro. Street parking is available depending upon time of day and there are parking garages in the neighborhood.

Summer hours: (June-Aug) M, W, F 10:30 am - 2:30 PM Phone: 202-332-6770, Email:

     * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *


Wed. June 14th, 6:30 PM Annual Meeting/Election of Officers, **7:15  Anna Palmer of Politco's Playbook: Power Briefing  will address the ANWC's full house of members on this special evening. Click here to Reserve early!  It's sure to be a sold out evening. Our programs are open to members,  guests, and students.

   * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Scholarship Winners 2017

(left to right) Pres.NPC, Jeff Ballou, Scholarship winners Lisa Sullivan (George Mason University) and Makita Francis, (Howard University), ANWC EIJ honoree Susan Page and ANWC Pres. Helen R. White

      * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

History in the Making: Cranford House

 Cranford House: Home to the American News Women's Club

ANWC is located at 1607 22nd Street, NW, Washington, DC 20008 at 22nd Street and Florida Ave., on Embassy Row between the Bulgarian and Estonian Embassies.  For use for an event contact Regular  office hours are Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays 10a-4p and move to summer hours in June. Call us at 202-332-6770 or e-mail us Street parking is available but limited depending on time of day. Parking garages are nearby on Mass. Avenue. Allow yourself time to park.


The Trupps, with Sandy Trupp as our revered member and her husband Phil and daughters make membership for the ANWC a family affair. Contact the Club office if you are interested in becoming an esteemed member.

     * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

ELIZABETH BREE: Intern Extraordinaire! Special Thanks!

Thank you Elizabeth for your special service in support of the ANWC. Elizabeth interned with us as part of her Georgetown University Summer in Washington DC program.  She's back to Fordham University. 

    * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *


Photo Galleries

Click here to view photos of
the many exciting ANWC events.

Read about our past Gala honoring Barbara Walters here!


Meet our luminaries

 Recipients of Our Excellence in Journalism Award

The Recipients of our ANWC Excellence In Journalism Award
It is with great pride that we remind you of the recipients of the ANWC's Excellence in Journalism Award to the candidate who possesses the attributes that make him or her standout above the rest in this highly competitive field of journalism. In the past, the award was presented in the form of a formal “Roast and Toast” event at one of the elegant hotels in Washington, D.C. More recently the award has been bestowed in more of a “Toast” cocktails and dinner format at the National Press Club, also in Washington, D.C.  

This event is the ANWC’s chief fund raising activity in which we raise awareness and scholarship grants for worthy journalism students. The festive event around this coveted award is generally held in the spring. We hope to see you at our next “Roast and Toast” of a media luminary. This year our entire membership was able to vote for our honoree Barbara Walters who received the 2013 Excellence in Journalism award on June 21, 2013, at the National Press Club.


Greta Van Susteren (2016)

Norah O'Donell (2015)

Gwen Ifill (2014)

Barbara Walters (2013)

Candy Crowley (2012)

Diane Rehm (2011)

Eleanor Clift (2010)

Katie Couric (2009)

Brian Lamb (2008)

Ben Bradlee & Sally Quinn (2007)

Bob Schieffer

Cokie Roberts

Judy Woodruff

 Al Neuharth

Jim Lehrer

Larry King

Andrea Mitchell

Walter Cronkite

 Sam Donaldson

 Sarah McClendon

Catherine Filene Shouse

Helen Thomas